Monday, April 20, 2020

Deadline Extended *** Postcolonial Bauman Conference

University of Leeds, September 3-4 2020
KEYNOTES: Etienne Balibar; Carlo Bordoni and David Lyon (others TBC)

As one of the most prominent and influential intellectuals of our times, Zygmunt Bauman envisaged and practiced sociology as a dialogical activity.

Jointly held by the Bauman Institute and the Postcolonial Intellectuals and their European Publics Network (PIN), this transdisciplinary conference proceeds in this spirit by inviting a dialogue between Bauman and postcolonial studies organised around four overlapping strands, each of which reflects on the composite figure of ‘postcolonial Bauman’:
  1. Postcolonialism and Postcommunism;
  2. Postcolonial Europe
  3. The Intellectual as Outsider
  4. The Intellectual as seen from the Outside
The full Call for Papers can be downloaded by clicking below


As we each adapt to the new realities of the COVID-19 pandemic, we have decided to recognise the dramatic changes to everyone’s home and working life by extending the deadline for our Call for Papers.

So – abstracts may now be received until 12.00 noon (BST) on Monday 11th May 2020.
Abstracts should be no more than 150 words and clearly linked to one of the four conference strands outlined in the original Call for Papers available by clicking here.

Please email your abstracts to the Organising Committee via Sarah McLaughlin –

Decisions on abstracts will be communicated to authors not later than Friday 15th May 2020.
*** Given the current global uncertainty concerning the health risks of travel (as well as possible restrictions on movement, perhaps into September) – and to make our event as inclusive as possible by assisting the participation of academic and non-academic colleagues from all parts of the world – we are currently planning for the possibility of this 10th Anniversary Conference being held entirely online. FURTHER DETAILS FORTHCOMING ***

Please take good care of yourselves, friends and family.
With our best wishes,
The Bauman Institute

Organising Committee:
Professor Griselda Pollock, Dr Mark Davis, Professor Max Silverman, Professor Tony Bryant, Professor Graham Huggan, Dr Jack Palmer, Ms Sarah McLaughlin.